Maybe you missed a payment and your coverage was dropped. Or you just can’t find an inexpensive policy. Or maybe you just don’t think you need it. Whatever the case may be, driving without insurance is a major issue in Texas. In 2012, it was estimated at 13 percent of all drivers on the roads of Texas do not have car insurance. Thanks to the Texas Automobile Insurance Plan Association, our state has taken great strides in recent years to help get drivers insurance. However, some still take the chance.
So what happens if you get into a car accident with someone who isn’t insured? If you have uninsured motorist insurance, then you have nothing to worry about since this will be picking up the tab. But what if you’re the one who was driving without insurance? Expect some harsh penalties coming your way. If you are unable to prove that you have an active insurance policy, you will receive a fine for failure to carry insurance, which range between $175 and $350. And the penalties increase each time you are caught without insurance:
- For a first offense, you will receive a fine as well as pay an annual surcharge of $250 for three years in a row.
- For a second offense, not only will you have to face an increase in fines, your vehicle may be impounded for 180 days. That means more money out of your pocket.
- If you got into an accident without insurance, not only do the fines increase and your vehicle impounded, but you are 100 percent liable for the injuries and property damage the other people have sustained in the accident.
And that’s not all! You could also be receiving a lawsuit from the other party involved.
If you were involved in a car accident with an uninsured motorist in Houston, get a car accident lawyer who can get you the compensation that you deserve. Contact the car accident lawyers at de Lachica Law Firm, PLLC, today for a free consultation.